Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935 Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865 Website: www.doniphanr1.com

REGULAR MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met in a regular session Tuesday, March 21st, 2023 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Steve Burke, President Katie Friend, Treasurer Riley March, Vice President Mike McAfee Jane Stilwell David Maple

SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Brad Hagood, Superintendent Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary Jay Fish, Executive Administrator of Operations Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director Dana Griffin, DMS Principal Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director Heather Willcut, DIS Principal Dee Burton, Special Education Director

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aimee Conover, Misty Lowery, Tonya Dickson, Stephanie Thomas, Keshia Russell, Joshua Lewis, Glen Cox

GUESTS PRESENT:

Steve Austin, Brandon Woolard - Bank of Missouri, Michael Pigg, Jim Stilwell, Mary Beth Cox, Trevor Lowtharp

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Burke with the above listed present. A motion was made by March, seconded by McAfee, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 6-0.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by March, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 6-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List
- 5. Part-Time/Early Graduation List

Ashley DeBerry and Brad Hagood presented the Board with the Annual Performance Report (APR).

A motion was made by McAfee, seconded by Friend, to approve the bid from People's Community Bank for the Lease Purchase on the bus garage. Motion carried 5-0. Burke abstained.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by McAfee, to approve the purchase of a salt spreader for \$7,290.00 for the city of Doniphan with a signed agreement that the city will service our parking lots as long as the machine is operable, provide the salt for the first five years, and be responsible for all repairs on the machine. Motion

carried 5-0. March abstained.

A motion was made by Maple , seconded by March, to table the 2023-2024 salary proposals. Motion carried 6-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to approve the bid from Windstream for \$35,188.00 one time fee and \$1612.95 per month for the new phone system. Motion carried 6-0.

Mr. Hagood and Dr. Fish updated the board on the following: Ballpark Road, Career Center, Block Grant, and Building Activities/Events. Mr. Hagood asked Mrs. Willcut, Mrs. Griffin and Mr. Braschler to update the board regarding happenings in their buildings.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Friend, seconded by McAfee, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Burke with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A patron addressed the board regarding a personnel issue.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to put Glen Cox, Special Education Teacher, on paid administrative leave for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-nay Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by Friend, and seconded by March, to approve the following resignations: Timothy Hollinger - Special Education Teacher/Bus Driver - Effective February 28, 2023 Brooke Grogan - 4th Grade Teacher - Effective June 30, 2023 Daniel Cagle - High School Head Boys Basketball Coach - Effective June 30, 2023 Michael Jones - High School Principal - Effective June 30, 2023 Anna Young - 3rd Grade Teacher - Effective June 30, 2023 Hailey Bippus - Middle School Student Council Sponsor - Effective June 30, 2023 Tanya Price - High School Key Club Sponsor - Effective June 30, 2023 Samantha Sullivan - High School Key Club Sponsor - Effective June 30, 2023 Rick Donnell - CRCC Personal Finance/Multi-Media Instructor - Effective June 30, 2023 Glen Cox - Special Education Teacher/Middle School Football Coach/Middle School Track Coach - Effective June 30, 2023. Rebekah Oesterreicher - 5th/6th - 7th/8th Cheerleading Coach - Effective June 30, 2023. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows: Stilwell-yea Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by March, and seconded by Maple, to approve the following new hires: <u>David Dobbins</u> - Substitute Bus Driver - Effective March 22, 2023 <u>Jeremiah Lovins</u> - Full Time Bus Driver - Effective March 1, 2023 <u>Bobby Carpenter</u> - Full Time Custodian - Effective March 29, 2023 Jameson Allen - High School Head Football Coach/Health PE Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

Emily Joiner - DIS Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

Mara Hill - DES Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

Christine Spradling - K-5 Music Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

Kobe Kaminski - High School Science Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

Sandra Essman - DES Teacher - For the 2023-2024 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

Mr. Hagood informed the Board of an internal transfer:

Hunter Dilbeck - High School Cross Country for the 2023-2024 school year.

A motion was made by McAfee, and seconded by Friend, to approve the probationary teachers as presented for rehire for the 2023-2024 school year:

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea (abstained from Burke) McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea (abstained from D. March and P. March) Friend-yea

A motion was made by March, and seconded by McAfee, to approve the non-tenured teachers for tenure as presented for the 2023-2024 school year:

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by McAfee, to approve the Athletic and Extended Duty contracts minus spring sports for the 2023-2024 school year:

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea (abstained from Pennington) McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by March, to approve the Sponsor & Extended Duty contracts as presented for the 2023-2024 school year:

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea (abstained from Pennington) McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea (abstained from Hodo)

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by March to approve Randy Cates as High School Principal for the 2023-2024 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Burke-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by March, seconded by McAfee, to adjourn the meeting at 9:08 PM.

The Board will meet for a regular board meeting April 18, 2023 at 6:00 PM.

Attested by:

Steve Burke, President

Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary