# Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

### **REGULAR MEETING**

### **OPEN SESSION**

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met in a regular session Thursday, February 16th, 2023 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

# **MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:**

Steve Burke, President - Absent Katie Friend, Treasurer Riley March, Vice President Mike McAfee Jane Stilwell David Maple

# **SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:**

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary
Jay Fish, Executive Administrator of Operations
Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director
Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director
Dana Griffin, DMS Principal
Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director
Heather Willcut, DIS Principal
Mike Jones, DHS Principal

# STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aimee Conover, Tonya Dickson, Katie Austin-Moore, Andy Cheney, Glen Cox, Rebecca Swafford

### **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Debra Tune - Prospect News, Steve Austin

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Vice President March with the above listed present. A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Friend, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 5-0.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by McAfee, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 5-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List
- 5. Part-Time/Early Graduation List

Tonya Dickson, CTA President, gave the board an update on CTA.

Jane Stilwell addressed the board regarding the Teaching for Success Program Grant.

A motion was made by McAfee, seconded by Friend, to approve the 2023-2024 school calendar. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by McAfee, seconded by Maple, to approve the 2023-2024 board meeting dates. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to approve the 2023-2024 insurance renewals with a cap of \$581.00 on board paid health insurance. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by McAfee, seconded by Friend, to approve the 2023 summer school salaries. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by McAfee, seconded by Friend, to accept the bid from Brad Jolly for \$35,000.00 for the football practice field. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by McAfee, to accept the bid from Mark Gargac for \$420,000.00 for the bus garage construction. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to table the purchase of a salt spreader. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Hagood and Dr. Fish updated the board on the following: career center project and the bus garage project.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Friend, seconded by McAfee, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive session was called to order by Vice President March with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by Maple, and seconded by Stilwell, to approve the following resignations:

Hunter Dilbeck - Assistant Middle School Football Coach - Effective at the end of the 2022-2023 school year.

Tim Rosmarin - Cross-Country Coach - Effective at the end of the 2022-2023 school year.

Jason Lance - DHS Head Football Coach - Effective at the end of the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea McAfee-yea Maple-yea March-yea Friend-yea

A motion was made by Stilwell, and seconded by McAfee, to approve the following Administration and Directors for the 2023-2024 school year:

Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director

Mike Jones, High School Principal

Randy Cates, Assistant High School Principal

Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal

Heather Willcut, Intermediate Principal

Jay Fish, Executive Administrator of Operations

Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director

Dana Griffin, Middle School Principal

Adam Epps, Athletic Director

Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director

Warren Gipson, Technology Director

Shannon Hodo, Maintenance Director					
<u>Delicia Burton</u> , Special Ed Director					
A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:					
	Stilwell-yea	McAfee-yea	Maple-yea	March-yea	Friend-abstained
A motion was made by Friend, seconded by McAfee, to adjourn the meeting at 7:42 PM.  The Board will meet for a regular board meeting March 21st, 2023 at 6:00 PM.					
Attested by:					
Riley March, Vice Pr	resident			Angela Vaugh	n, Board Secretary