Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

REGULAR BOARD MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met for a Regular Board meeting Tuesday, March 15th, 2022 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Devin Kirby, President Katie Friend, Treasurer Riley March, Vice President Steve Ivy

Jane Stilwell David Maple Steve Burke

SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary
Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director
Mike Jones, High School Principal
Barb Dowler, Special Ed. Director
Jay Fish, Middle School Principal
Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director
Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal
Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director
Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director
Dana Griffin, DES, DIS & DMS Assistant Principal

Heather Willcut, DIS Principal

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aimee Conover, Tracy Hodo, Kelli Hastings, Jeremy Stout

GUESTS PRESENT:

Adria Hyde - Prospect News, Desiree Mischka, Emilee Davis, Madison Sisco,

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Kirby with the above listed present.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by Burke, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by March, to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried, 7-0.

Desiree Mischka, Senior Class President, presented the board with a request for graduates to decorate their caps.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Stilwell, to join the OSBA Consortium in order to obtain health insurance, dental insurance, and offer voluntary supplemental insurance products. The motion also increased the existing cap for health insurance from \$550.00 to \$575.82. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Friend, to have a special board meeting on Tuesday, March 29th, to review bids for the DHS Cafeteria, and meet with CTS Group regarding upcoming projects.

Dr. Fish and Mrs. Willcut addressed the board regarding the recent Academic Bowl that DIS and DMS students attended.

Mr. Hagood updated the board on baseball concession stand demolition, ESSER III, and building projects.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by March, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea March-yea Burke-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Kirby with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Ivy, to approve the following resignations/retirements:

Victoria Morgan, K-5 Art Teacher, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

<u>Kizech Washington</u>, Middle School Health/PE Teacher, Boys 5/6th & 7/8th Grade Basketball Coach, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

<u>Summer Sitze</u>, Junior Beta Sponsor, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

Mary Beth Rowland, 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

Janet Brewer, Middle School PLTW Teacher/Drivers Education Teacher, effective June 15, 2022.

Desirae Collins, Pre-K Paraprofessional, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea March-yea Burke-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to approve the following new hires:

Eric Jameson, Middle School Assistant Baseball Coach, effective for the 2021-2022 school year.

Amy Stadler, Transportation Secretary, effective April 1, 2022.

Keshia Russell, District Process Coordinator, effective for the 2022-2023 school year.

<u>Stephanie Moreland</u>, Elementary Art Teacher, effective for the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea March-yea Burke-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

Mr. Hagood informed the board of the following internal transfers:

<u>Amber Switzer</u> from Intensive Needs Classroom Teacher to 5th Grade Special Education Teacher effective for the 2022-2023 school year.

<u>Lisa Ellis</u> from 5th Grade Special Education Teacher to Intensive Needs Classroom Teacher effective for the 2022-2023 school year.

<u>Stephanie Raymer</u> from Special Education Teacher to Middle School Keyboarding Teacher effective for the 2022-2023 school year.

Glen Cox from Middle School Science to Special Education effective for the 2022-2023 school year Joshua Brown from 3rd Grade Teacher to 5th Grade Teacher effective for the 2022-2023 school year. Haley Whelchel from 5th Grade Teacher to 3rd Grade Teacher effective for the 2022-2023 school year. <u>Dana Griffin</u> from DES, DIS, DMS Assistant Principal to Middle School Principal for the 2022-2023 school year.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to approve the non-tenured teachers as presented for tenure for the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea (abstained from Rebecca Swafford) March-yea Burke-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Maple, to approve the probationary teachers as presented for the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea March-yea (abstained from Dalton March) Burke-yea (abstained from Madison Burke) Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Stilwell, to approve the Athletic and Extended Duty contracts as presented for the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Friend-yea March-yea Burke-yea (abstained from Madison Burke) Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Ivy, to approve the Sponsor and Extended Duty contracts as presented for the 2022-2023 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Attested by:

Friend-yea (abstained from Tracy Hodo, Dana Griffin & Rebecca Swafford) March-yea Burke-yea (abstained from Dalton Pennington) Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Maple-yea Kirby-yea (abstained from Angela Kirby)

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Stilwell, to adjourn the meeting at 9:13 PM.

The Board will meet for a special meeting on Tuesday, March 29, 2022, and have a regular scheduled and reorganization board meeting Tuesday, April 19th, 2022 at 6:00 PM.

| · | |
|------------------------|--------------------------------|
| Devin Kirby, President | Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary |
| | |