Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935 Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Website: www.doniphanr1.com

## **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

### **OPEN SESSION**

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met for a Regular Board meeting Tuesday, September 21st, 2021 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

### **MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:**

Devin Kirby, President Katie Friend, Treasurer Riley March, Vice President Steve Ivy Jane Stilwell David Maple Steve Burke

## SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Brad Hagood, Superintendent Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director Mike Jones, High School Principal - absent Barb Dowler, Special Ed. Director Jay Fish, Middle School Principal Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director Dana Griffin, DES, DIS & DMS Assistant Principal Randy Cates, DHS Assistant Principal Heather Willcut, DIS Principal

#### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Aimee Conover, Tracy Hodo, Zach Randolph, Kelli Hastings, Taleana Short

### **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Ron Smith - Prospect News, Rodney Bridger - CTS, Keegan Corrigan - CTS, Mitch Wood - CTS

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Kirby with the above listed present.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by March, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 6-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Stilwell, to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried, 6-0.

## David Maple arrived at 6:03 PM

Rodney Bridger, Keegan Corrigan and Mitch Wood from CTS Group presented ideas for projected building projects for the district.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Stilwell, to approve Ripley County Hazard Mitigation Resolution. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Ivy, to approve the Local Special Education Compliance Plan. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Burke, to amend the high school dress code to state that shorts/skirts must be worn at a length that is not distracting, and must adequately cover the legs and rear of the student. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend to amend the high school dress code to allow students to wear hats in the high school buildings. Motion failed due to lack of a second motion.

Mr. Hagood updated the board regarding the armory plumbing issues, substitute shortages, food service balance, updated board policies, ESSER III application, and potential building sites for the bus garage.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by March, seconded by Friend, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea Maple-yea March - yea

# EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Kirby with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Burke, to approve the following recommendations:

Taleana Short - High School Pep Club Sponsor for the 2021-2022 school year.

Tracy Hodo - High School Pep Club Sponsor for the 2021-2022 school year.

Andrew Jackson - Substitute bus driver for the 2021-2022 school year.

Tom Newman - Full-time bus driver for the 2021-2022 school year.

Savanah Moe - Part-time high school girls basketball coach for the 2021-2022 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea Maple - yea March - yea

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Burke, to accept the resignation of Barbara Sipes, custodian, effective September 17, 2021.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Stilwell-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea Maple - yea March - yea

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to adjourn the meeting at 9:45 PM

The Board will meet for a regular board meeting Tuesday, October 19th, 2021 at 6:00 PM.

Attested by:

Devin Kirby, President

Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary