Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

REGULAR BOARD MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met for a Regular Board meeting Tuesday, May 18th, 2021 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Devin Kirby, President Katie Friend, Treasurer Riley March, Vice President

Steve Ivy Jane Stilwell David Maple Steve Burke

SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary
Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director
Mike Jones, High School Principal
Barb Dowler, Special Ed. Director
Jay Fish, Middle School Principal
Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director
Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal
Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director
Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director
Dana Griffin, DES, DIS & DMS Assistant Principal

Randy Cates, DHS Assistant Principal

Heather Willcut, DIS Principal

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aimee Conover, Keshia Russell

GUESTS PRESENT:

Ron Smith - Prospect News, Keegan Corrigan - CTS Group, Rodney Bridger - CTS Group, Mitch Wood - CTS Group.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Kirby with the above listed present.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by March, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by Ivy, to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried, 7-0.

CTS Group presented their company to the board.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by March, to approve the People's Community Bank signature cards. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Ivy, to purchase score boards and wall pads for the Middle School gym. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by March, to approve CD investment bid specs. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by Ivy, to authorize the superintendent to refinance the FEMA building through its current lease purchase with a bank that will provide the district with the lowest interest rate at the least cost by Wednesday, May 26th at 12:00 PM. Motion carried, 6-0. Burke abstained.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Friend, to purchase four buses from Midwest Transit. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by March, to approve Pyramid Roofing to roof the Elementary Specials classrooms. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to approve the Request of Qualifications. Motion carried, 7-0.

Mr. Hagood updated the board regarding Esser fund purchases and capital projects.

David Maple left the meeting at 7:30 PM.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Friend, seconded by Burke, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Kirby with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

David Maple re-entered the meeting at 8:15 PM.

A motion was made by Burke, and seconded by Stilwell, to approve the following new hires:

- 1. Hunter Dilbeck High School Assistant Basketball Coach for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 2. Lisa Watson Special Education Paraprofessional for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 3. Lisa Ellis Special Education Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 4. Rebekah Oesterreicher Elementary Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 5. Logan Melson DMS At-Risk Assistant for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 6. Denver Jackson DES/DIS Librarian for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 7. Ashley Albright DIS Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 8. Jennifer Thornton DHS English/Speech/Drama Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.
- 9. Katie Austin-Moore Yearbook Sponsor for the 2021-2022 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea Burke-yea Friend - yea Maple - yea

Mr. Hagood updated the Board on the following internal transfers:

1. Amanda Johnson from Kindergarten Teacher to First Grade Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Ivy, to adjourn the meeting at 8:22 PM.	
The Board will meet for a regular board meeting Thursday, June 24, 2021 at 6:00 PM.	
Attested by:	
Devin Kirby, President	Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary