# Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

### **REGULAR MEETING**

# **OPEN SESSION**

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met in a regular session Tuesday, February 23rd, 2021 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

# **MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:**

Keith Elliott, President Riley March, Treasurer Jane Stilwell, Vice President Steve Ivy Katie Friend - absent

Devin Kirby Steve Burke

# **SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:**

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary
Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director
Mike Jones, High School Principal
Barb Dowler, Special Ed. Director
Jay Fish, Middle School Principal
Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director
Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal
Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director
Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director
Heather Willcut, Intermediate Principal

# **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Aimee Conover, Laura Keown, Kelli Hastings

### **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Ron Smith - Prospect News, Stan Seiler - Wallstreet

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Elliott with the above listed present.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Ivy, to approve the agenda. Motion carried, 6-0.

A motion was made by Stilwell, seconded by Burke, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 6-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List
- 5. Part-Time/Early Graduation List

Stan Seiler from Wallstreet presented the board with an update on the 2021-2022 insurance rates.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Stilwell, to approve the 2021-2022 school calendar. Motion carried 6-0.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Ivy, to accept bids for paper for the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried 6-0.

A motion was made by Kirby, seconded by Burke, to table the motion to accept bids on roof replacement. Motion carried 6-0.

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Stilwell, to accept the Peoples Community Bank bid for Doniphan R-1 banking services for five years. Motion carried 5-0. Burke abstained.

A motion was made by Kirby, seconded by Burke, to set the 2021 graduation date as May 14 at 7:00 PM. Motion carried 6-0.

Mr. Hagood updated the board on the following: parking lots, Esser II funds, AMI days, Covid, and the energy audit.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by March, seconded by Kirby, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues. A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea Burke-yea

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive session was called to order by President Elliott with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by Ivy, and seconded by March, to accept the following retirements/resignations:

Amy Stadler, Full-time bus driver going to part-time bus driver, effective February 1, 2021.

Robert Wilson, Full-time bus driver going to part-time bus driver, effective February 24, 2021.

Sheila Henson, Elementary Teacher effective at the end of the 2020-2021 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea Burke-yea

A motion was made by Stilwell, and seconded by Kirby, to approve the following new hires and internal transfers:

Diana Littrell as DMS At-Risk Assistant for the 2021-2022 school year.

<u>Christina Kirby</u> as Title 1 Reading Specialist for the 2021-2022 school year.

Sarah Coomer as Special Ed Paraprofessional effective March 9, 2021.

<u>Madison Burke</u> as Elementary Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.

<u>Jennifer Statler</u> as Elementary Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.

<u>Summer Sitze</u> as Intermediate Teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.

Laura Thornton as High School Library Media Specialist for the 2021-2022 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea (abstained on Diana Littrell)

Burke-yea (abstained on Madison Burke)

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by March, to approve the rehire of the following Administrators for the 2021-2022 school year:

<u>Dustin Braschler</u>, CRCC Director

Mike Jones, High School Principal

Randy Cates, Assistant High School Principal

Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal

Barb Dowler, Special Ed Director

Heather Willcut, Intermediate Principal

<u>Jay Fish</u>, Middle School Principal

Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director

<u>Chera Dean</u>, Federal Programs Director

<u>Dana Griffin</u>, K-8 Assistant Principal

<u>Jeremy Stout</u>, Athletic Director

Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director

Warren Gipson, Technology Director

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Stilwell-yea Kirby-yea Ivy-yea Elliott-yea March-yea Burke-yea

The Board will meet for their next regular meeting March 16, 2021 at 6:00 PM.

Attested by:		
Keith Elliott, President		Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary