Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

REGULAR MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met in a regular session Tuesday, June 16, 2020 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Keith Elliott, President
Riley March, Treasurer
Katie Friend - *left the meeting at 7:06 PM*Steve Ivy
David Maple
Jason Johnson
Steve Burke

SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary
Barb Dowler, Special Education Director
Jay Fish, Middle School Principal
Mike Jones, High School Principal
Heather Willcut, Intermediate School Principal

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aimee Conover

GUESTS PRESENT:

Mike Lewis from Foundation Support Works by Woods, Kim Holland, Tammy Daniel, Jane Stilwell, Devin Kirby and Ron Smith from Prospect News

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Elliott with the above listed present.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Maple, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Friend, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 7-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary

Mike Lewis from Foundation Support Works by Woods, updated the Board about repairs to the Federal Programs Building. A motion was made by March, seconded by Ivy to move forward with the repairs. Motion carried, 7-0.

Kim Holland and Tammy Daniel presented the board with the needs of the Doniphan R-1 nurses office.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Johnson, to certify the official June 2nd, 2020 Municipal Election results. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Friend, to award the CD Investment to Bank of Grandin at 1.33% APY for 12 months. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to approve the bids for Occupational Therapy to Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center, and Physical Therapy Bids to Dena Seratt for the 2020-21 school year. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Ivy, to approve the 2020-2021 Intermediate School Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Friend, to approve the 2020-2021 Middle School Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by March, to approve the 2020-2021 High School Handbook. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to approve the ASBR Fund 4 transfer. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Ivy, to approve the final budget amendment for the 2019-2020 budget. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Ivy, to adopt the 2020-2021 budget/salary schedules. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Johnson, to move the July 21st board meeting to July 14th. Motion carried 6-0.

Mr. Hagood updated the board on the following: summer school, liability insurance waivers regarding Covid-19, prom, and the sale of the old central office building.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by March, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea March-yea Burke-yea

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Elliott with the above listed Board Members (Katie Friend left the meeting at 7:06 PM), Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Maple, to accept the resignations of the following:

<u>Dana Allen</u>, Federal Programs Reading Specialist, effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year.

<u>Candy Taylor</u>, Federal Programs Reading Specialist, effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea March-yea Burke-yea

A motion was made by March, and seconded by Johnson, to approve the following for employment:

<u>Lula (Rosie) West</u> as Special Education Teacher for the 2020-2021 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea March-yea Burke-yea

Mr. Hagood notified the Board of an internal transfer. Chris Allen will transfer from Third Grade Teacher to Federal Programs Reading Specialist for the 2020-2021 school year.

A motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Burke, to approve the Superintendent's contract extension through June 30, 2022.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea March-yea Burke-yea

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Maple, to adjourn executive session, and enter the Board into open session for the Board Reorganization Meeting. Motion carried, 6-0.

BOARD REORGANIZATION

The Board Reorganization Meeting was called to order by the Superintendent with the Board Members, Board Secretary, above listed school officials and staff present.

The purpose of this meeting:

- 1. Swear in newly elected Board Members.
- 2. Reorganize the Board by electing a President, Vice President, and Treasurer.

Mr. Hagood recognized the outgoing members, Jason Johnson and David Maple.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Burke, to dissolve the current Doniphan R-1 School Board. Motion carried, 6-0.

The newly elected Board Members were sworn in by Superintendent, Brad Hagood:

Devin Kirby Term of 3 years Steve Burke Term of 3 years

Jane Stilwell

Term of 3 years

Mr. Hagood asked for nominations for the office of President; Kirby nominated Elliott. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by March, that nominations cease and Keith Elliott be elected as President by acclamation. Motion carried, 5-0 (Burke abstained).

Mr. Hagood asked for nominations for the office of Vice President; Burke nominated Stilwell. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by Kirby, that nominations cease and Jane Stilwell be elected as Vice President by acclamation. Motion carried, 6-0.

Mr. Hagood asked for nominations for the office of Treasurer, Ivy nominated March. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Ivy, that nominations cease and Riley March be elected as Treasurer by acclamation. Motion carried, 6-0.

Motion was made by Ivy, seconded by Elliott, to adjourn the meeting at 8:10 PM.

The Board will meet for their next regular meeting July 14th at 6:00 PM.

Attested by:

Keith Elliott, Board President

Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary