# Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Brad Hagood, Superintendent 401 Walnut Street Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667 x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: www.doniphanr1.com

# **REGULAR MEETING**

# **OPEN SESSION**

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-1 School District met in a regular session Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building located at 401 Walnut Street.

### MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Keith Elliott, President Katie Friend, Vice President Riley March, Treasurer Steve Burke Steve Ivy David Maple

Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary

# **SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:**

Brad Hagood, Superintendent
Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal
Barb Dowler, Special Education Director
Dana Griffin, K-8 Assistant Principal
Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director
Jay Fish, Middle School Principal
Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director
Mike Jones, High School Principal
Randy Cates, High School Assistant Principal
Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director
Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director

Heather Willcut, Intermediate Principal

### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Aimee Conover, Kelli Hastings, Laura Keown, and Jeremy Stout

### **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Jason Johnson

Ron Smith

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Elliott with the above listed present.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Maple, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Johnson, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 7-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List
- 5. Part-time Attendance

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Friend, to approve Board Policy 1210, Board Policy 4871, Board Regulation 4871, Board Form 4871 and Board Policy 2640. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by March, to approve a five-year lease for five new buses from Midwest Transit Equipment Company, Inc. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Johnson, to approve the district health and life insurance rates from Anthem Blue Cross/Blue Shield. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Maple, to set high school graduation for May 8, 2020 at 7:00 PM. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Ivy to request bids for a District Psychological Examiner. Motion carried, 7-0.

A proposal for charging admission to High School baseball games was presented and discussed. No action was taken.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Burke, to approve Track and Field for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried, 7-0.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by Friend, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board in executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive session was called to order by President Elliott with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

After review of the 2019-2020 administrative evaluations, a motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Ivy, to approve the following employment recommendations for the 2020-2021 school year:

<u>Dustin Braschler</u>, CRCC Director

Mike Jones, High School Principal

Randy Cates, Assistant High Principal

Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal

Barb Dowler, Special Ed Director

<u>Heather Willcut</u>, Intermediate Principal

Jay Fish, Middle School Principal

<u>Glenda McEntire</u>, Transportation Director

Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director

Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director

Carl Young, Technology Director

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Ivy, to approve the following employment recommendation for the 2020-2021 school year:

Dana Griffin, K-8 Assistant Principal

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-abstained March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Ivy, to approve the following employment recommendation for the 2020-2021 school year:

Shannon Hodo, Maintenance Director

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-abstained March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Johnson, to accept the resignations of the following:

Rebecca Dornin, Pre-K Paraprofessional, effective at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

Amy Pfeffer, Junior Class Sponsor, effective at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

Kimberly Walter, 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Math Teacher, effective at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

Charles Abbott, Recovery Room Teacher, effective at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

A motion was made by Johnson, and seconded by March, to approve the following for employment:

Chelsei Dale as 6<sup>th</sup> grade science teacher effective for the 2020-2021 school year.

Lindsey Hancock as Elementary Counselor effective for the 2020-21 school year.

Rebecca Gardner as High School English Teacher effective for the 2020-21 school year.

Christina Kirby as Elementary Teacher effective for the 2020-21 School year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott-yea Johnson-yea Burke-yea Friend-yea March-yea Maple-yea Ivy-yea

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Burke, to adjourn the meeting at 8:30 PM.

The Board will meet for their next regular meeting on March 24, 2020 at 6:00 PM.

Attested by:

Keith Elliott, Board President

Angela Vaughn, Board Secretary