Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Bradley Hagood, Superintendent 309 Pine St.

Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: doniphanr1.k12.mo.us

REGULAR MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-I School District met in a Regular Session Tuesday, July 30, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:Keith Elliott, PresidentBrad Hagood, SuperintendentKatie Friend, Vice PresidentDustin Braschler, CRCC DirectorRiley March, TreasurerMike Jones, DHS PrincipalJason JohnsonRandy Cates, DHS Asst. Principal

Steve Burke
Steve Ivy
Steve Ivy
Steve Ivy
Steve Ivy
Steve Ivy
Heather Willcut, DIS Principal
Wesley Johnson, DES Principal
Dana Griffin, K-8 Asst. Principal

Latraca Lowe, Board Secretary

Barb Dowler, Sp. Ed. Director

Chera Dean, Federal Programs Director Ashley DeBerry, Curriculum Director Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director

Staff: Aimee Conover, Chris Sipes, Kelli Hastings, Tonya Dickson

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by President Elliott with the above listed present.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by March, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by March, to approve the Consent Agenda as printed. Motion carried, 7-0.

- 1. Minutes
- 2. Accounts Payable
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Ivy, to approve the Superintendent name change on all district accounts. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Friend, to approve the PDC Plan and Budget for the 2019-20 school year. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Friend, to set the Tax Rate Hearing for August 20, 2019 at 5:45 p.m. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by March, seconded by Burke, to approve the Conflict of Interest Statement with the MO Ethics Commission. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Burke, to approve the 2019-20 MO DESE Personnel Contact List. Motion carried, 7-0.

After review of the additional information submitted on the football fencing project, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, for the Superintendent and President Elliott to draft a bid specification sheet and advertise for prospective companies to bid on the project. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Johnson, to approve the Alternative School Handbook for the 2019-20 school year. Motion carried, 7-0.

Page 2

A motion was made by March, seconded by Burke, to approve Board Policy #5550 and requested Mr. Hagood to contact the district's policy service for clarification on policy #2871 and #4870 and reconsider their approval at the August meeting. Motion carried, 7-0.

Mr. Hagood updated the Board on the following: Armory, Roofs, Paving, Gym Floor, Flood Damage, and the Federal Programs Building.

Mr. Hagood shared with the Board the 21st Century Grant (BEEP Program) cut allocations by 20% for the 2019-20 school year. Possible budget cuts were presented; a formal presentation will be presented at the August meeting.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board into executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal issues.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott	Yea	Friend	Yea	Burke	Yea	March	Yea
Johnson	Yea	Maple	Yea	Ivy	Yea		

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President Elliott with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, and Board Secretary present.

Mr. Hagood notified the Board of the following internal transfers for the 2019-20 school year: Kimberly Walter from 5th grade ELA Teacher to 7th grade Math Teacher Hunter Dilbeck from 7th grade Math Teacher to Elementary PE Teacher

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Maple, to approve the following employment recommendations: A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott	Yea	Friend	Yea	Burke	Abstained	March	Yea
Johnson	Yea	Maple	Yea	Ivy	Yea		

Rodney Honeycutt	DMS Softball Coach	2019-20 school year
Angel Kirby	DHS Asst. Softball Coach	2019-20 school year
Madison Burke	ISS Aide	2019-20 school year
Sara Cain	Long-term Sub Int./MS PLTW	2019-20 school year
Haley Whelchel	5th Grade ELA Teacher	2019-20 school year
Robert Wilson	Route Bus Driver	2019-20 school year
Dalton Pennington	DHS Academic Bowl Sponsor	2019-20 school year
Lisa Bliss	Sophomore Class Sponsor	2019-20 school year
Jonathan Brannum	DHS Beta Club Sponsor	2019-20 school year

The Board reviewed the list of students referred to the Alternative School by building administration for the 2019-20 school year.

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Johnson, to adjourn the meeting at 8:11 p.m.

The Board will meet for their next regular meeting August 20, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. Tax Rate hearing will be held at 5:45 p.m.

Attested by:
Keith Elliott, Board President
Latraca Lowe, Board Secretary