Doniphan Reorganized School District No. 1 Dr. Jennifer Snyder, Superintendent 309 Pine St.

Doniphan, MO 63935

Telephone: 573-996-3667x6 Fax: 573-996-5865

Website: doniphanr1.k12.mo.us

REGULAR MEETING

OPEN SESSION

The Board of Education of the Doniphan R-I School District met in Regular Session Tuesday, April 16, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.in the Board Room of the Administrative Office Building.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Riley March, President

Jason Johnson, Vice President, arrived at 6:12 pm

Debbie Littles, Treasurer

Steve Burke Katie Friend David Maple Jason Johnson

Latraca Lowe, Board Secretary

SCHOOL OFFICIALS PRESENT:

Dr. Jennifer Snyder, Superintendent Dustin Braschler, CRCC Director Mike Jones, High School Principal Randy Cates, Asst. High School Principal Wesley Johnson, Elementary Principal Barb Dowler, Special Education Director Heather Willcut, Federal Programs Director

Jay Fish, Middle School Principal

Glenda McEntire, Transportation Director

Staff Present: Aimee Conover, Chris Sipes, Kelli Hastings, Jeremy Stout

Guests: Ron Smith; Prospect News, Brad Hagood, Steve Ivy, Hope Vaughn, Jessica White and Jan Spencer

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by President March with the above listed present. Motion carried, 6-0.

A motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Burke, to approve the agenda with the following changes: deletion of the National Guard Armory Lease and the addition of the VW School Bus Replacement Program Category 1 Grant. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Maple, to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion carried, 7-0.

- 1. Minutes, with a correction
- 2. Bills
- 3. Financial Summary
- 4. Substitute List

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Elliott, to approve updates to board polices P0320, P1210, P2640, P3425, R3165 and R6190. Motion carried, 7-0.

After discussion by the Board concerning the VW School Bus Replacement Grant, a motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Maple, to purchase one bus and solicit bids to finance the second bus. Motion carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Littles, to certify the official April 2nd, 2019 Municipal Election results. Motion carried, 7-0.

Dr. Snyder updated the Board on the following: Facilities, Career Day at CRCC, Mc Teacher's Night, MAP testing is starting for the district, and masonry work at the football field.

Pursuant to RSMo 610.021-610.222, a motion was made by Friend, seconded by Johnson, to recess the regular meeting and enter the Board into executive session to discuss and/or act on student, personnel, and legal matters.

A roll call	vote was	taken and	carried	as follows:

Elliott	Yea	Littles	Yea	March	Yea	Burke	Yea
Johnson	Yea	Maple	Yea	Friend	Yea		

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive session was called to order by President March with the above listed Board Members, Superintendent, Steve Ivy, Brad Hagood and Board Secretary present.

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Elliott, to accept the following resignations:

Raymond Neel as Maintenance employee effective July 31, 2019

Angel Kirby as DHS Beta Club Sponsor effective at the end of the 2018-19 school year

Jessica Halley as Special Education Aide effective at the end of the 2018-19 school year

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Burke Yea Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Maple, to approve the recommendation to dissolve one of the MS/INT Beta Club Sponsor positions and divide the full stipend between the three sponsors for the 2019-20 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Burke Yea Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Burke, to approve the employment recommendations of the following for the 2019-20 school year.

Lisa Foster as DMS/INT Beta Club Sponsor

Jason Lance as Summer Weight Training Coach

Sallie McFann as Kindergarten Teacher

Stacy Ritter as BEEP Program Director

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Burke Yea Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Friend, seconded by Johnson, to approve Dalton Pennington as DHS Baseball Coach for the 2019-20 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Friend Yea Burke Abstained Johnson Yea Maple Yea

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Littles, to approve Chera Dean as Federal Programs Director for the 2019-20 school year.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Burke Nay Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Johnson, to table the recommendation for the DHS In-School Suspension position until interviews are completed for the Alternative School Teaching position.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Yea Burke Yea Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Burke, seconded by Elliott, to approve the Classified Staff as presented for the 2019-20 school year, excluding Daniel Borkus with a termination date of April 17, 2019.

A roll call vote was taken and carried as follows:

Elliott Yea Littles Yea March Abstained Burke Yea Johnson Yea Maple Yea Friend Yea

A motion was made by Maple, seconded by Littles, to adjourn executive session, and enter the Board into open session for the Board Reorganization Meeting. Motion carried, 7-0.

BOARD REORGANIZATION

The Board Reorganization Meeting was called to order by the Superintendent with the Board Members, Board Secretary, and Brad Hagood present.

The purpose of this meeting:

- 1. Swear in newly elected Board Members.
- 2. Reorganize the Board by electing a President, Vice President, and Treasurer.

The newly elected Board Members were sworn in by Board Secretary, Latraca Lowe:

Riley March Term of 3 years Steve Ivy Term of 3 years

Dr. Snyder asked for nominations for the office of President; Johnson nominated Burke; he declined, Burke nominated Elliott. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Burke, seconded by Littles, that nominations cease and Keith Elliott be elected as President by acclamation. Motion carried, 7-0.

Dr. Snyder asked for nominations for the office of Vice President; Johnson nominated Friend. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Maple, that nominations cease and Katie Friend be elected as Vice President by acclamation. Motion carried, 7-0.

Dr. Snyder asked for nominations for the office of Treasurer, Elliott nominated March. With no other nominations, a motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Burke, that nominations cease and Riley March be elected as Treasurer by acclamation. Motion carried, 7-0.

Motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Elliott, to adjourn the meeting at 7:34 p.m.

The Board will meet for their next regular meeting May 21, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.

Attested by:	
Keith Elliott, Board President	
Latraca Lowe, Board Secretary	